1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some questions about boost for F22

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by Turbo&Auto, Jun 25, 2006.

  1. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    I got my car up and running now, no more 18psi or that kinda crazy shit. It was running good at 6psi with the emanage and a set of 450cc DSM's.

    Now I upped the boost to 10-12 psi and I get a CEL sometimes if it creeps a lil passed 12.

    Also, since it has a distributor and timing isnt controlled by the ECU, how do I retard for higher boost? Just turn the overall timing back with the distributor? Will that make my low end or part throttle run like total shit with high EGT's?

    TIA :)
     
  2. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    don't know much about emanage but i do know honda MAP sensors are only good to 10. something lbs of boost before they don't know what's going on

    i bet if you run codes it'll show #3 for MAP sensor...
    the timing is still somewhat controlled by the ECU...
    you ever notice how long (in degrees) the rotor is inside your cap?
    the computer can tell the coil to send the pulse anywhere in that range of the rotor...
    you can alter timing by turning the distributor, or you can use a tuning tool to alter your ignition maps...
    turning the dizzy will alter throttle response and low end, but it shouldn't be too drastic...
     
  3. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    from our forced induction section in refrence
     
  4. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    Thanks a ton mang! :)

    I'll be buying a 3bar today.
     
  5. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    Would you happen to know what GM vehicle would have that sensor? Then I could order one at a local auto store. OR maybe you know of a place to get them?

    TIA
     
  6. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    hmmm... not sure, i was under the impression that all GM's have the 3 bar maps

    let me see if i can find anything
     
  7. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    GM's AC-Delco division has a 3-Bar MAP sensor that was used on the 1989 Turbo Trans AM 3.8L V6. It is P/N 1#213-101 (1#1604-0749).

    Mopar Turbo Minivan - 3-Bar MAP Sensor

    is your car tuned?
    i'm guessing emanage hides the positive manifold pressures from the stock ecu until the stock unit gets above its capable range...
    i think you would need to make some modifications to use this MAP sensor...
    look at this chart...
    [​IMG]
     
  8. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    Tech - 3 Bar MAP Install
    you need a chipped ECU and uberdata...
    or you can hack it and use check valves, but i would not recommend this for your application, cause more boost = more chance of grenading
     
  9. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    Thanks for the info. I read a majority of that website, my head is a lil numb now. But that does def. look like the way to go. They're very local for me to, 20 mins from my work.

    I sent them a email, just making sure I listed everything I will need. I want to get this going ASAP :)
     
  10. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    I talked to Chris over there, thanks again for the links Recked.

    I'm going to go with Crome pro and the DIY chip kit. Hopefully they get the Ostrich in soon so I can get this up and running :)
     
  11. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    chris over where?
    i'm guessing you looked at the hondata dealer list and called evans tuning?
    i heard good things about them
    check out xenocron.com
    he's got a lot of tuning stuff for the DIY'ers, and can sell you a socketed ecu, with datalogging etc, he's very helpful...
    are you getting it tuned? or doing it yourself?
     
  12. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
  13. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    Sorry, I shouldve been a lil more clear. I contacted Chris over at Xenocron, they're very local for me :)

    I bought a DIY chip kit, datalogging cable and a Ostrich Emulator when they're available. Then Crome Pro to tune.

    I plan on doing everything myself. I DL'd Crome already and started looking through the program. I plan on doing some reading on the software itself and what the values mean etc....

    I've tuned about a dozen cars, FI's and NA's. Thats the best part IMO :)
     
  14. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    fucking awesome, chris is the man, very very helpful
    can you solder?
    and do you have a wideband?
    what size injectors do you have? DSM's?

    this guy had an ostrich but it might be sold :(
    http://hondaswap.com/parts-sale-trade-wanted/fs-obd-1-socketed-datalogging-ecu-ostrich-wb-02-sensor-69950/
     
  15. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    I have a set of DSM injectors that I can use in there, but I heard they need modification to work. I also seen the Precision Inj's on Xenocron for 220 a set! I may just pick them up, 440's most likely.

    I have a PLX Wideband, EGT, Fuel pres and Boost gauge. I'm also going to add a oil temp and pres. gauge in the near future.

    I know a lil about soldering, j/k. We build circuit boards at work for our own parts, I make them from time to time depending on how slow we are. I'm really good with soldering under a microscope :)

    Thanks again for the help man, a lot of people just shun you and tell you to read until you figure it out.
     
  16. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    DSM Injector Install

    DSM injector install write up with pics...
    check it out, could save you $200 bucks, and i think your accord already runs the injector resistor box so they are more or less plug and play, don't know about the injector plugs, so you may need to splice them

    i think i'm the one who told you about using the DSM manifold in the first place :)
    its really nice to see projects roll along, and i like helping people who appreciate it
    you could give me rep points :)
    lol
     
  17. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
  18. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    I'm still running the DSM manifold and turbo. The manfiold I bought for a T3 flange didnt fit, the turbo flange was less then an inch from the block, NO WAY a turbo would fit in there.

    Only partly ripping it apart, mostly ECU stuff now.

    BUT, you're right, you turned me onto the whole DSM Honda Hybrid turbo setup :)
     
  19. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
  20. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    i'd be careful with that, like all things on ebay
    you gonna get the burn1 also?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page