1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

stage 3 cams on stock springs and retainers

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by Magana559, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
    ok so like the title says I have a b18c1 head with Stock Springs And Retainers.

    My Question Is Can I Run crower Stage 3 Camshafts With Stock Springs And Retainers? Only Planning On Reving Up to 8k RPM And Not verry often.

    My Build Is A B16A Block With 12:5:1 Pistons, Eagle H-Beam Rods, And Eagle Chromoly Crankshaft.

    Any Answers Would Be Great.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Wow...umm, no. Your upgrading your cams, hence, you need to upgrade your valve train.
     
  3. austin20110

    austin20110 New Member

    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Va
    yea also it tells you, that you need to upgrade your springs and retainers.
     
  4. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    :ditto: :withstupid:
     
  5. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Werd. Stock springs cant handle all the extra lift and duration from the new cams. Even though your not pushin the motor any harder youll still see problems. The stock springs arent gunna be able to control the valve very well. Im not sure, but you may even run into some coil bind, which can cause big problems.
     
  6. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca

    Just Asking Because Im Getting A Great Deal On Some cams And Just Wondering If I can Run Them On Stock Springs.

    Ill Get Some New Springs And Retainers Later When I Install These Cams, I have Some Stock GSR Cams For Now.
     
  7. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
    thanks for all the help Guys.

    So The Next thing I Need To Know is Do I need to Upgrade Anything Else On The Valve train Or Is It Only Springs And Retainers?
     
  8. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    to handle the cams, all you will need is the springs and retainers. Everything else should be replaced according to the condition theyre in.
     
  9. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
    Cool Thanks, Everything else Is In good shape.

    Had The Head Resurfaced And Had Everything Checked out.
     
  10. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Good deal. Sounds like your about ready to rock.
     
  11. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
    Indeed! Im Thinking About Getting Some Brian Crower springs and retainers But If Anybody Knows Of Something better And A Lil less costly let me know.

    thanks again
     
  12. austin20110

    austin20110 New Member

    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Va
    I'm not sure how other springs and retainers would work, due to clearnace issues. Best bet is to stick with the Brian Crower stuff. Pretty much the best shit around anyway. Hence the harsh price
     
  13. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Good call on replacing the springs and retainers my friend. :thumbsup:
     
  14. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
    Yep That Might Be A Issue....I Guess Its Go Hard or Go Home.

    But If I Go Hard I Might Not be Able To Go Home ^_^



    Its All Because of you! ;) lol

    Thanks For The Help guys Will Keep You updated.
     
  15. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca
    Anybdy Know Were I Can Get A Base Map Tune For Now?

    Or how About Tuners In Cen Cal? Visalia-Fresno Area?
     
  16. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    in order to run a stage 3 cam properly,
    you will need: springs, retainers designed to hold them
    more compression. stock compression is far too low to utilize this large of a cam you're at 12.5 so you should be ok here
    more fuel. a larger injector may be necessary, 310's probably
    a tool to control said extra fuel, such as crome, etc
    and with that, comes tuning time.
     
  17. 95b16coupe

    95b16coupe New Member

    Messages:
    6,538
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    ct
    it's not a good deal if you don't plan on replacing all the other part B mentioned. i would like to think you can just dump some cams into an engine and be golden, but you can't.

    oh, and turn off your caps lock.
     
  18. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca

    Sounds Good Thanks.

    Will Be Looking Into Crome But I Have Used Hondata Before......Granted Didnt Tune Myself But I Know I Woud Need Extra Fule And Advance/Retard My Ignition And Tune My Fule To Air Ratio Accross My RPM range.

    I have Some 440 Rc Injectors From My Old Head But Im Not Sure If Thats Too Big Of An Injector.

    Thanks For The Reply.
     
  19. Magana559

    Magana559 The Warden

    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Location:
    fresno Ca

    Its A good Deal Because Like I Said I Will Drop My Stock GSR Cams In Untill I get Enough Cash To Swap The Springs And Retainers, Then Drop In the Stage 3 Cams.

    $280 For Stage 3 Brian Crower Cams Is A Good Deal Dont You Think?

    Oh And Thanks For Your :repost:
     
  20. 95b16coupe

    95b16coupe New Member

    Messages:
    6,538
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    ct
    well, i have a theory, something is only a good deal if you need it.

    if you can buy something, but you have to spend a lot of extra money to make it work, it lessens the value of that item. when all is said and done, with the extra head work and fuel, you can probably spend a couple hundred more to get a turbo kit.

    so in my eyes, no, it's not a good deal.

    if you already have the other head stuff, you can do the labor yourself, and your fuel system is upgraded with a tunable program, then yes, it is a good deal.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page