1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vtec VS Non-Vtec

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by EdrikLongtail, Jul 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EdrikLongtail

    EdrikLongtail Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Their has always been a heated debate on If Vtec and boost are good or the Non-Vtec route is more better. Some say the better flow of heads is what makes vtec better when using boost, others say when running 3+ lbs of boost that vtec can go take a hike.Vtec is a great, and beeing able to controle vavle timming and cam timming and everything else with computers is amazing, But man has been using turbo's and superchargers on rat motors (Big blocks) and mouse motors (small blocks) since Era of time but on the other hand, honda's are missing 4 Cylinders thats why people say vtec is their to make up to the lost power.Which do you Believe is better?, Vtec and Boost or Non-Vtec and boost.


    Im all for LS and old D series and F20's motors :), Plz keep this civil and not a flame war :unsure:


    PS-Use INFO to back up your decision
  2. mattcalica

    mattcalica Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    i personally say, that a TUNED vtec motor will put out more hp than any non-vtec motor. Vtec motors have far more potential overall, boosted or not.
  3. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    vtec is good at low rpms but when you have an all out race motor
    you arnt worried about low rpm running so most racers use vtec eleminator cams
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    49,696
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    hcivic, you have no idea what you are talking about. vtec killer cams are for all motor setups.

    there is NO debate- the VTEC motor will make more power.

    however, for the money, an LS setup can be made pretty damn quick for a couple grand cheaper than a gsr setup would be- mostly, initial cost.
  5. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    no some racers use a similar cam basicly it eliminates the need for the third lobe sorta the same as all time vtec it eliminates the need for the vtec lobe
    same as the set up on the new mopar ecotec(sp?)
    drag car
  6. Domeskilla

    Domeskilla Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    mopar ecotec? that is the GM ecotec man.. Lingenfelter made one with 1100 hp for an s-10.
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    49,696
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i know what vtec killer cams are dude. if you find me one boosted honda running them, who actually runs a respectible time, I'll give you $20, cuz it just doesn't happen
  8. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    the are vtec killer cams the are the same diffrence i was not sure of the name
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    49,696
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  10. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    yes but the duration is equal to what it would be on the third lobe but eliminates it
  11. calvin

    calvin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NETHERLANDS
    i will go for vtec boosted.
    Think it's better then "non vtec turbo"
    with turbo cam's maybe.
    Calvin
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    49,696
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Retirement Home

    no way. 295 durations + of the killers is WAY too much overlap
  13. EdrikLongtail

    EdrikLongtail Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Idk, I like the Torque output that the Non-vtec motors put out like i.e (LS motors as been the norm) I just don't see Vtec as much of a power adder then a non-vtec mtor (guess depeneds on the $$$ and personal choice)
  14. b20_ek

    b20_ek Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palmdale
    eh, its hard to say. but having a b20 non vtec is a big difference to my d16y7! I would like to make more torque than horsepower thats all
  15. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0

    When you open up the valves for a longer period of time or lift them higher power will be made(to a certain extent). THAT is what Vtec does. Opens up the valves more in the top end. Soooo like it or not, it IS more power
  16. tedwright

    tedwright Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UPSTATE NY
    i always thought vtec was extremely over-rated..............until i drove my friends prelude the other day. vtec it is!! no contest :D
  17. bigroy80

    bigroy80 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys im new to this board also and just wanted to comment about this which also could be considered a question, my friend who i talked to the other day i asked him about the whole vtec and turbo thing and he was sayin that if u have the external controler u can make it so there timed so they dont over lap and i was just wondering about this
  18. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hes probably talking about cam gears, the only "controller" you can have to control valve overlap
  19. bigroy80

    bigroy80 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    what about the super vafc that apexi makes?
  20. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    U can change when Vtec engages, play with fuel curves, etc...but you cant change the overlap of the valves
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page