B20Z2 in a 1991 Civic Hatch

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Afroshark

I bought a 1991 Civic Hatch off of a kid recently. When I bought it off the guy all he knew was that it had a motor swap done, he didn't know what else if anything else had been done all he knew was that and the fact that the newish motor had around 100k miles on it. When I bought it, the car was running super rough and rich. I am fairly new to this type of thing and was told to check my ECU and see what had been done. IF the idiot that did the swap didn't change out the ECU what are your recommendations? It seems to be a straight up swap no different heads that I can tell. No VTEC that I can see either. From the little bit of research that I have done I have found out that the B20Z2 is from a Cr-V around 99-01. The reason that I call the person an idiot is because from what little tinkering that my mechanic and I have done together we have found things half way done, ie the fuel rail and throttle body were barely attached (I could loosen the bolts by hand without tools.) There were missing clamps all over the place. A random relay laying beside the battery. I have not had a chance to check the ECU, I was told that it is located on the passenger's side behind the kick panel. Anyone know what the stock ECU would have been for the 91 so I can compare what is there to what used to be? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I will include a photo of what engine bay looks like.

Attachments

• 20151006_163309.jpg
    20151006_163309.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 1,226
  • 20151006_163320.jpg
    20151006_163320.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 598
if your obd0 a pm6 or a pr4 will work fine obd1 p06 p75 pr4 if you pull the carpet from the passenger floor the ecu will be right there you may need a size 10 mm to remove there will be a white sticker with numbers and letters lmk what they are