Need some help with a swap.

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

tforste

Hi guys,
I'm new in general to Civic and such and I'm looking at putting together my own project. I have the knowledge needed to accomplish the task, but I need some help making sure that I get the correct parts that I need.

I am looking at a 1993 Civic EX that has a 1.5L 4cyl with a TON of miles on it, so it's fairly cheap. The body is straight, has a sunroof, and is in really nice condition which is why I'm looking at it for a project.

Now, according to the Engine Swaps 101 article on here, I see the B16A2/3:
"1. B16A2/3: Completely bolt-in Swap, VTEC needs to be wired, SIR II, Hasport shift linkage. Del Sol VTEC for the del sol"

And the
"4. B18C1: Completely bolt-in swap, VTEC needs to be wired."

Both of those engines are in the 160-170hp range, which is around what I would like.

I'm looking for advice one which one would be an easier swap into a '93 Civic, Possibly what extras I would need to have (the B16A2/3 mentioned SIRII, Hasport shift linkage, ect.), and maybe a recommendation for a site that sells engines at a good price (I've found a few, just wondering if you guys know of some good ones). Will I need to change anything like the Transmission? (I believe this car already has one less than a year old in it)

Thanks a lot for your help. I know I'm a complete newbie, but I'm intereted in this and I'd appreciate any help/advice. ^_^

Thank you,
I'm leaning towards the B16A2 I think. It seems to be less expensive and only like 8hp less, which isn't a huge deal to me since it will be my first project, I can go big on another one when I get some experience with it. I didn't see any on that site, so I'll be shopping around for one.

So if I buy a package with an ECU, Tranny, and Engine, will I need anything else?

if youre already going through the trouble of swapping
i would go with the B18C