School Advice

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

I worked all through college and still had to take loans. It made my remaining balance at the end less but it did take me 6 years to get a BS degree because I wanted to be able to pay for some things on my own. Not sure I could say whether I would have preferred one way over the other. It did take me a long time to get through school; but when I graduated I already had 4 years experience over my peers from working in the field already.

I worked all through college and still had to take loans. It made my remaining balance at the end less but it did take me 6 years to get a BS degree because I wanted to be able to pay for some things on my own. Not sure I could say whether I would have preferred one way over the other. It did take me a long time to get through school; but when I graduated I already had 4 years experience over my peers from working in the field already.

I'll be right around six years as well. Mainly because I wasn't full time for the first two years or so. I regret that heavily, but I can't really do anything about it now.

I can't apply for UW until Spring quarter 2012. Sucks, but I'm still going to apply there. It is leaps and bounds ahead of University of Idaho in the engineering department.

For some reason I thought it was far more expensive. People over on this side of the state have thrown around some really wild numbers - $40k/yr etc. so I never really looked into it- glad I did.

It makes sense, and I'm sure just paying for food will put a nice drain on my savings over the course of 9 months. lol

I'm definitely very excited to get started at a university. I think I've chosen a field I'll be able to enjoy, which is all that matters to me. Oh, and I'm sure the pay wont be all that bad either ;)
That 40K/year is probably the COA (Cost of Attendance). COA figures in tuition, living expenses, books, fees, travel, and misc expenses.