1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2 catalytics inline = emission pass?

Discussion in 'Integra' started by makemagick, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    I found an article before about this but cant seem to find it. I keep failing my emissions.

    1st time I failed by 15%

    I ran 94 + new oil change + new sparks + new pcv valve

    2nd time I failed by 8%

    added new o2 sensor (last one was still working but was pretty old)
    added new air filter

    3rd time failed again 64%
    had 87 (10% ethanol) and 91 shell (no ethanol) mixed

    Thought lower octane would burn faster thus cause less emissions

    Sorry for the long intro but would 2 cats (one in the normal place) one somewhere more to the back? (or even in-line) solve my problems?
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013
  2. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Denatured alcohol: Make your car pass emissions - e30tech.com Forums


    Much cheaper and easier than installing a second cat.
     
  3. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    wish i could get that where i'm from, unfortunately not, already looked everywhere for it
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    No hardware store? Home Depot? Lowe's? Ace? True Value? Tractor Supply?
     
  5. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Tried many home depos (Canada) n none of them seem to even know it exists -_- havent tried lowes, but w.e that's not what i was asking for. in theory would this 2 cat method work? Methyl Hydrate is the closest thing i found
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013
  6. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,034
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,034
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    post up your actual emissions test numbers
    ill do what i can to help you out with your mix
     
  8. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    1st one
    _______ 2.5 rpm_____ Idle
    Limit Reading
    HC 200 131 pass________257 fail
    Co 1 1.15 fail_________ 1 pass

    2nd one

    HC 200 162 pass 217 fail
    Co 1 1.08 fail 0.66 pass

    3rd one

    Hc 200 164 pass 283 Fail
    Co 1 1.85 fail 0.91 pass
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013
  9. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    I actually read your post before but like i said its a canadian thing, its hars as hell to find denatured here

    EDIT: actually found it, 21$ and 16 depending on pressurized or not, i need presurized right?$ (in us its 4$ for 4 as i looked through few websites)
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013
  10. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,034
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    found this
    BioFlame Ethanol, 3.78L | Canadian Tire

    95% ethanol 5% proponol

    that will work fine

    run it down to about 1/8th tank or to just about the empty line
    dump in the gallon (or 4L how ever you find it)
    drive it around for about 10-15 minutes getting everything hot and mixed in
    then go get tested


    also what car is this / what engine / any mods / tuning / etc
     
  11. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,034
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    pressurized??? like aerosol???
    no you want a jug of liquid that you can just pour in to the tank (with a funnel)

    got a link to what you found?
     
  12. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,034
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  13. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Im not sure what they meant by pressurized, didnt bother to ask but i think thats what i've seen on one of the forums as well..but nevertheless they have both

    the stuff for 21/16$ for galon is called Starbrite or starbright?

    i did find captain fab but dam stuff is like 13$ a litre, 4 litres of that is 52$, id rather put another cat then spend 13$ a litre on alcohol
     
  14. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    you know what's funny? still noone answered the original question...
     
  15. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,150
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    Go to a paint store, they will have it. If you have a Sherwin Williams near you, their American stores carry it so try them.
     
  16. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    nope they dont carry it here already tried, you guys really dont believe, that ish is hard to get in Canada, and even if you find one its like x5 x10 times more expensive than US
     
  17. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    to answer the original question, its probably a toss up on whether or not a second cat would solve your problem.

    the issue is if you dont get it close enough to the engine, it may never actually get hot enough to burn off everything that you need.
    personally, its too much of a gamble cost wise to do that, plus the extra restriction in the exhaust would suck.

    there is no reason your car shouldnt pass of everything is running correctly and you dont have a check engine light on.

    you already started to do the regular maintenance, just finish that. that way, you arent jjust wasting your money on something you are going to take right off.

    make sure you got the correct temperature of spark plugs,
    and make sure you gapped them correctly.
    change the fuel filter, and run a can of sea foam through the gas tank, and run a can through the intake. you can find the instructions online somewhere for running it through a vacuum line. that will clean out a whole lot.

    clean out the throttle body, a lot of people dont think that this one small thing can affect your emissions so much, but it can.

    make sure you dont have any vacuum leaks, visually inspect the hoses on the engine, replace the dry rotted ones. vacuum hose is cheap as dirt.

    i (may or may not) have passed more than one car with no emissions equipment on them at all by doing all of that first, then driving it around for a good 30 min before having the test done.

    do a run on the interstate or whatever you canadians call it up there, going up to 80 mph. then, cruise around town for 20 min, then get tested.

    you dont want to go straight to the emissions place straight after nailing it on the interstate bc that could leave a lot of unspent fuel in the cat, drive around to make sure its all cleaned out.

    make sure you change the oil too. old oil can get those numbers up in the fail zone.

    adding unnecessary equipment = no. it would probably be a waste of money, but i cant tell you 100%

    doing all of the routine maintenance = yes, its not a waste of money even if it fails again, because chances are it needed it anyway.
     
  18. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    out of what you listed the only thing ihavent tried is intake seafoam, n i didnt gap the plugs . Didnt know you have to gap plugs yourself, they were a bit smaller than manual said
     
  19. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    what about 99% isopropyl? Would that work?
     
  20. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    yeah, most all plugs will need to be gapped. the system that your parts place uses will specify if they do not need to be, otherwise, it will tell what the gap is supposed to be.

    even if they are not calling for a gap to be set, its pretty good to double check the gap in those plugs as well.
    i have worked in a parts house, the employees do not give a shit, those spark plugs get dropped a lot. so, the gap may be knocked down.


    run the seafoam through both gas and intake, then drive it like i said, then try again.

    i dont know what year or how many miles/km's your car has on it, but to get it past emissions it may be useful to put a slightly thicker oil in as well. high mileage engines will burn oil either through the piston rings, or the valve seals, that will throw your levels up.
    so, that could be another help.

    personally, i would never suggest using that lucas additive for oil, its shit.
    use thicker oil, not that garbage.

    i put that to a test one day, that little gear display they have on the counters is a great selling tool when turning by hand, but, put a drill to that bitch and the result is much different than you would think. the lucas side gets real frothy and stops climbing up the gears, afterward, it oxidizes and turns black, the plain oil side climbs properly.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page