1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

comcast can't limit internet

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by nootrac22, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
  2. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
  3. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    a question for discussion

    comcast claims its sending the interruption packets to help ease congestion on crowded cable connections
    whats the legailty/morality to perhaps putting a "speed limit" on those particular transfers during times of congestion? as opposed to terminating the connections?
     
  4. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    I believe that it's the companies responsibility to not sell more bandwidth then they can support.
     
  5. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    but your infrastructure would have to be enormous to support the kind of traffic that would be generated if every computer in america were a fulltime movie downloader/uploader

    you can't really assume worst case scenerio when most PC users will never pull massive amounts of traffic
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    i use a ton of b/w (between myself and E) and i've never seen a speed cap.
     
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  8. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Have you looked?
     
  9. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    looked where?
    you'd notice it on your DL's
     
  10. Cashizslick

    Cashizslick !i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!i!

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003

    Lol i know. Just messing with B.

    I have never noticed a cap either . . not that i use a lot of bw but still.
     
  11. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    500
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    Here in germany they do something similar. They allow the speed to peak at your max speed (1.7mB/s in my case) at the beginning of the download, then throttle it down after about 250KB to half your rated speed (.8mB/s in my case) and then finally fluctuate it every couple meg, allow it to peak at 3/4 of your full speed.

    This is so predictable that I can guess where and when it's going to change. The worst effected apps are distributed server applications, like many p2p programs. I have a feeling that's what it's designed for. They also have a system in place that will block any port that has "too much" traffic going to or from it. We have no recourse, because one company still owns all of the infrastructure. :(
     
  12. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    I was DL'ing something via azureus lastnight and noticed something funny

    i'm on a cable line and have the norton system works monitoring internet speed
    normal is a ping time of 80-90 ms
    when i was running the download i was getting down of less than 20 kbs and up less than 40 kbs and my internet speed dropped to almost nothing

    navigating websites turned downright painful
    any ideas?
    any chance my internal network could be set to slow me down? or you think its outside?
    i am not aware of any monitoring equipment or anything else in my office that would limit me but that doesn't mean much

    my DL was finished this morning and as soon as i turned off azureus my traffic went back to normal
    i tried turning azureus on and off a few times last night and saw the same results
     
  13. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    the man is capping you
     
  14. FObangah

    FObangah New Member

    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Location:
    Richmond VA
    Comcast is dirt ball anyhow. I don't know jack about band width, ping, and all that jazz... but I know when someone's screwin' me. I can't get FIOS because they havn't dropped the fiber optics on this side of town yet, and I can't have sat. in my apartment complex ( plus I don't like DISH500 or DishNet ). So if I want internet thats faster than city transit, I have to go Comcast, " with power boost"... what ever. Same for TV. I hate'em, they're expensive for no reason, have poor customer service, the on demand only works half the time. Thats allright though, I get my moneys' worth. I get all the movie/HD channels for free.:D Suck on that you COMCAST Basterds!!

    Sorry for thread jacking, figured I would vent.

    It sucks that they can cap something that is basicly a big community, I'm glad all the smarty-pants people out there are raising hell about it, 'cause I don't understand enough about it to even try to help.
     
  15. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Well see, that is completely legal...Read your contract. I can guarantee it says "Up to 1.5M/b" (or whatever your cap is).

    Most web traffic is done downloading in the first 5 seconds, so the average user wont care. It sucks, but thats perfectly legal. Killing a persons session without cause and without documentation is illegal...even if its to preserve your infrastructure.

    As someone already said, they have to be able to supply what they sell, and in the case of all ISPs they cant, so they have to make up for it somewhere...that somewhere is restricting downloads and uploads by terminating them.

    Im glad the house walked out on the ISP immunity bill this morning...and then i read the FCC is investigating Comcast for violations...that just made my day wonderful. For the most part they are getting what they deserve.

    I do have to admit. As much as people dog Time Warner, I have yet to have any complaints (except when they were re-running cable...and they gave me a two week notice before interruption).
     
  16. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    my situation as posted above is on TWC
     
  17. MadMaXXX

    MadMaXXX Mad Man

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    I am relieved that this passed.
     
  18. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    with your situation, you might wanna cap upload at 20-30k. If you dont have upload space, your internet will be slow as dog shit.
     
  19. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    how do i know if i have upload?

    993 kbps down 249 kbps up according to speakeasy
     
  20. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    hmmm...mine caps at about 60 on TW.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page