1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help me before i kill myself.

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 97hatchdx, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    ok so i got a d16y8 swapped into my 97 hatch. the motor is a 00 y8.

    i did the 2 wire iacv fix.

    i didnt wire up vtec yet.

    well the mechanic said there is no spark, there is no fuel. also when you turn the key you dont hear the fuel pump.


    could it be ecu related? could i have gotten a bunk ecu?

    when you try to start it you hear the cranking but it just never starts.
     
  2. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    20 views and no one?
     
  3. daveholiday

    daveholiday Do work

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    47
    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    You probably got 20 views and no answer because nobody who knows has come across your thread yet. I don't know either.

    I guess it could be a bad ecu, unless somehow you managed to mess up 90% of your wiring
     
  4. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    nope. i printed it out and moved it from a14 to a12 and removed the orange wire from a13 completely.

    ive been without a car for a month and am about to kill myself
     
  5. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    With your mom
  6. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    i just dont understand, before the engine was pulled everything worked fine
     
  7. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
  8. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well the 2000 civic is a obd2b ecu and your car is a obd2a so maybe thats it
     
  9. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    nah the car is obd2a and all the plug ins worked. the p2p ecu out of the 96 is being used. and it works no problem with that motor.
     
  10. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    there is like no spark and no fuel pressure i dont hear it buzz when i turn it on
     
  11. 95vtec

    95vtec New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    i'm having the same problem with my jdm b16a swap and have bought a new coil, ignition moduel, main relay, wires, plugs, cap and rotor i'm stumped as well. all you see and hear is everything turning but i have spark and it won't turn on. fuel comes out of the line when key is turned. if you find out what it is let me know cause like i said i'm stumped.
     
  12. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    do you have fuel pressure? because mine wont squirt out
     
  13. 95vtec

    95vtec New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    yea i do but i can't get it to start and someone told me the p28 is the reason its not working could this be it
     
  14. scubaspeed

    scubaspeed New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    So,what your saying is, you have fuel and spark but she still won't start, and your ecu is correct,If thats so , check your timing. make sure that your top dead center, on the crank, cam gears, and the distributer. Because if your not in sequence, it wont run! Top center #1 cylinder and the cams have "up, w/arrow," your distributer needs to be on #1 plug. Bottom L intake side. If thats not it, it's your ecu!
    P,S. just in case you didn't know that ! later :cool:



     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2008
  15. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    no. im saying I HAVE NO SPARK and NO FUEL :(
     
  16. 95vtec

    95vtec New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    have you checked any of the things i changed in my car
     
  17. Bkkfarang

    Bkkfarang New Member

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bangkok and Shenzhen
    are you using the harness for the car or the motor ? the crank sensor plug is 2 wires on 96-98 and 3 wires on 99-2000 you should change it to 2 wire plug on a newer motor . possible bad relays , bad ecu , to many things it could be with no spark or fuel
     
  18. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    im using the motor harness from a 97 ex. what do you mean 2 wire and 3 wires?


    if your talking the IACV i did the 3 wire to 2 wire iacv.

    crank sensor sounds like something to me,. could i use the round iacv plug i have to put on there?? or should i use the 3 wire iacv plug i had from the y7 iacv? and put it on the crank sensor? im lost


    to sum things up, im using the obd2a wiring harness with the obd2a ecu it doesnt matter that the motor is from a car that was obd2b because its the same ecu, just different plugs on the inside for the ecu
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2008
  19. Bkkfarang

    Bkkfarang New Member

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bangkok and Shenzhen
    crank semsor plug near the oil pump should be changed to the 2 wire form you original motor not the 3 wire that on it . from all you have said i would be pulling my hair out , you seem very informed , the plug i am talking about would throw codes but not sure it would cause it not to start
     
  20. 97hatchdx

    97hatchdx New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    can i put the crank sensor from my d16y7 in it?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page