new jdm retard needs ecu answers

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

VatorT

TD3 Racing Crew Chief
hi,
i'm new to this.....so please bear with me.
i have just sucessfully completed a ZC swap on my 91 civic Si, it was pretty straight forward and had no troubles. when it fired up instantly, nobody was more surprised than me. It runs great!

well, now that i got my hands dirty, i want to do a B16A2 (SiR-II)swap on my 93 civic EX coupe.
i'm pretty clear on most issues but the ECU.
i am told i need a P30 OBD-1 ECU......is this the "only ECU" it will run correctly with? can the existing ECU be used until the correct one is found?

also, i'm going to purchase my motor/trans/etc. locally from SOKO america or J-SPEC autosports(Canada) on the internet. any thoughts on either? (whats a fair price?)

any and all answers or coments are appreciated,

thanks, Tom

there are a few ECUs that will work with an SiRII swap in a 5th gen EX.
USDM and JDM P30
USDM P61
JDM PR3

those are the ones I can think of right now that should plug right in and work, granted there are other that will work, but you will need to conver to another OBD which is pointless since you are already running obd1.

thanks MasseyRacer

thank you for the prompt reply.
i'm learning tons of new stuff everyday.(reading countless web pages)
i sold my daily driver(towncar) last week, so i have to make good educated choices with my project car. we have 4 other cars in the household but.....nobody wants to give up theirs.(i just pay for and fix them)
i'm just starting to collect all the pieces needed to do the swap in early spring(no hurry). should have the B16A2 by mid november.

thank you for your time and thoughts,

You in all likelyhood will receive a JDM P30 with your swap.

If you do not, a USDM P30 will work fine.
USDM P61/P72 will kinda run the car, but they are intended for a different motor.