89 Prelude

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

MichaelATN

Sorry Im new to the Honda world, and I got my hands on a 89 Honda Prelude Si. I am wondering what I need to do to make the B20a5 stronger without breaking the bank? i would like to get site urls so i can look around the menu.So much help is needed with my nOObness hehe.

Thanks again
Michael

Well my goal is to add more horsepower and torque without killing myself with debt lol so thats my goal, nothing to fancy just something to get the job done.

Well, give us an idea about what you can afford and what your mechanical abilities are (i.e. can you install parts or will you be having a shop do it?) and we will be able to give you suggestions from there...

Well I can always learn lol and my budget right now 500.00. So yeah thats it, I always wanted to learn and i can read up and learn by trial and error. But yeah thats the idea =D

So Intake, header, and exhaust, what brand is good? I heard of Injen, K&N, Skunk2Racing? and all that would be 500 bucks?

So Intake, header, and exhaust, what brand is good? I heard of Injen, K&N, Skunk2Racing? and all that would be 500 bucks?

Injen, AEM, K&N are all good if you want a name brand intake. Honestly you could probably get away with a cheapy intake. If you want some assurance, get a cheapo intake and upgrade to a K&N filter. You could look into getting a custom exhaust from an exhaust shop. I'd probably go with 2.25" piping and a straight-through muffler. That should free up some horses. With all of that you'd be pushing the $500 mark. Add a header and a tune-up and you're looking at more like a grand...

Lets see pics of your prelude!! everyone on hondaswap likes pictures!! lol